अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » IANS » 3rd T20I: India’s poor day with the Decision Review System

3rd T20I: India’s poor day with the Decision Review System

Published on :

Sydney, Dec 8 (IANS) Team India had a poor day with the Decision Review System (DRS) in the third and final T20 International against Australia on Tuesday with the team wasting both their reviews and also getting timed out once when they asked for a referral after watching the replay on the big screen.

India had failed to take an lbw review in the 11th over bowled by left-armer T Natarajan against Matthew Wade as the umpire thought the ball was sliding down the leg.

However, replay on the giant screen showed the ball hitting the stumps, prompting Indian skipper Virat Kohli to take a review which was understandably turned down.

New Zealand player Jimmy Neesham took to Twitter to criticise that passage of play, saying, “How good! Batter misses a leg stump half volley. Bowler doesn’t appeal. Keeper turns down the review. Big screen dude plays the replay too early. Umpire accepts the review until the batter complains. That’s gotta be the most mistakes made in a 20 second window in all cricket.”

India then wasted both their reviews, against Glenn Maxwell.

The first goof-up came on the last ball of the 15th over of the Australian innings. The hard-hitting batsman went for a reverse-sweep against leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal but missed it. But replays showed that the ball had not touched the bat before wicketkeeper KL Rahul caught it.

India’s next miss came on the first ball of the 17th over with Maxwell trying a reverse hit against pace bowler Shardul Thakur. Kohli seemed uncertain but decided to take a DRS at the last moment. Once again the replays showed the ball had missed the bat before going into the Rahul’s gloves.

Earlier in the ODI series as well, India had wasted a couple of reviews against Steve Smith in the first match and against Aaron Finch in the third match.

In the T20I series, they got a review right in the first T20I but got one wrong against Steve Smith in the second match.



(This story has not been edited by Newsd staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)
(For more latest news and updates Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter. Download our mobile app )

Latests Posts