Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Agra Lok Sabha Constituency, Uttar Pradesh: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Agra Lok Sabha constituency, one of the 80 seats from Uttar Pradesh will go for voting on Thursday, April 17. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) surprised all the political observers when they didn’t name incumbent MP Ram Shankar Katheria as thier candidate for the Agra constituency, and instead decided to go with SP Singh Baghel, one of his vocal critics.

However, Katheria was shifted to contest from Etawah. BSP candidate Kumar Soni is the face of the SP-BSP-RLD alliance, while Congress has fielded Preeta Harit.

The Agra Lok Sabha Constituency consists of 1,539,683 number of electorates in totality, of these 856,239 are males and 683,444 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), the constituency number of Agra is 18. In the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, eight seats of Uttar Pradesh are set to undergo polling. The other seven constituencies from Uttar Pradesh which will vote on April 18 are Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Mathura, Fatehpur Sikri.

Agra Lok Sabha constituency comprises the following five Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Etmadpur, Agra Cantt, Agra South, Agra North, Jalesar.

In the second phase of elections, 97 parliamentary constituencies across India would vote for the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

2014 Lok Sabha winner: Dr Ram Shankar Katheria, BJP

Runner up name, party: Narayan Singh Suman, BSP

Number of voters polled in 2014: 10,70,400

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 58.99

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

BJP Prof. S. P. Singh Baghel

BSP Manoj Kumar Soni

INC Preeta Harit

Important dates to remember for Phase II

Notification to be issued on March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of nomination March 29
Date of elections for Phase II April 18
Date of Result May 23

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place for the second phase of Odisha Assembly Elections 2019. The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

Latest Update