Gurugram to get its fourth sub-division

Gurugram, Feb 13 (IANS) Haryana’s Gurugram district, which is home to over 20 lakh people, will soon have its fourth sub-division, an official said on Wednesday.

Badshahpur, 8 km from Gurugram city on the Sohna-Alwar road, will soon have a Sub-Divisional Magistrate’s (SDM) office. The three existing SDM offices are Gurugram (North), Pataudi and Sohna.

The new sub-division will have its jurisdiction over 37 villages (all under Municipal Corporation of Gurugram) including densely-populated ones like Badshahpur, Wazirabad and Jharsa.

The official said that residential sectors and societies falling under the revenue area of the 37 villages, including sector 30 to 76, will also come under the new SDM’s remit.

“Badshahpur assembly constituency is the largest in Haryana with nearly 3.5 lakh voters. Gurugam constituency is the second largest assembly seat in the state with about 3.2 lakh voters and 311 polling booths,” the official said.

Pataudi and Sohna constituency have around 2.88 lakh and 2.10 lakh voters respectably.

The decision to set up the new sub-division was taken at a cabinet meeting headed by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar recently.

“It was a long-pending demand of people to set up a SDM’s office at Badshahpur. It was requirement given the large number of voters and people in the area. It was one of the best gifts for people of Gurugram,” PWD, Forest and Civil Aviation minister Rao Narbir Singh, who is also the local legislator, said.

The new SDM’s office is likely to start functioning from April 1.



(This story has not been edited by Newsd staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)
(For more latest news and updates Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter. Download our mobile app )

You May Like

Latest Update