Kishanganj Lok Sabha Constituency, Bihar: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results
Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Kishanganj Lok Sabha Constituency, Bihar: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Kishanganj, an eastern Bihar constituency, is scheduled to go for polls on Thursday, April 18, during the second phase of Lok Sabha elections. Mohammad Javed, Congress leader, is Mahagathbandhan’s candidate here, while Janata Dal United’s has fielded Mahmood Ashraf JD.

In the 2014 general elections, the Kishanganj seat was retained by the then incumbent MP and Congress leader Maulana Mohammad Asrarul Haque. The seat has been lying vacant since Haque’ death on December 7, 2018.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), the constituency number of Kishanganj is 10. In the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, five seats of Bihar are set to undergo polling. Kishanganj is located closer to the borders of West Bengal on the east. The other four constituencies from Bihar which will vote on April 18 are Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka.

Presently, Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituency comprises the following six Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Bahadurganj, Thakurganj, Kishanganj, Kochadhaman, Amour, Baisi

In the second phase of elections, 97 parliamentary constituencies across India would vote for the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

2014 Lok Sabha winner: Mohammad Asrarul Haque, INC

Runner up name, party: Dr Dilip Kumar Jaiswal, BJP

Number of voters polled in 2014: 9,28,490

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 64.52

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

JD(U) Sayed Mahmood Ashraf

INC Mohammed Javed

AIMIM Akhtarul Iman

Important dates to remember for Phase II

Notification to be issued on March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of nomination March 29
Date of elections for Phase II April 18
Date of Result May 23

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place for the second phase of Odisha Assembly Elections 2019. The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019 dates: Constituency wise schedule of voting for General Elections

Latest Update