Election, Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Maharajganj Lok Sabha Constituency, Uttar Pradesh: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Maharajganj is one of the thirteen constituencies in Uttar Pradesh to go for polls in the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Sunday, May 19. In the 2019 General elections, Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded sitting MP Pankaj Chaudhary. The Congress has given the ticket to Supriya Shrinate. While Samajwadi Party’s Kunwar Akhilesh Singh is the Mahagathbandhan candidate.

Maharajganj Lok Sabha constituency comprises of following Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Pharenda, Nautanwa, Siswa, Maharajganj, Paniyara.

Sitting MP, party: Pankaj Chaudhary, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 240,458

Runner up name, party: Kashi Nath Shukla, BSP

Number of voters in 2014: 846,654

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 51.48%

Number of women voters in 2014: 762,260

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,677

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Pankaj Chaudhary (BJP)

Supriya Shrinate (Congress)

Kunwar Akhilesh Singh (SP)

Important dates to remember for Phase VII

Notification to be issued on April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of nomination May 2
Date of elections for Phase III May 19
Date of Result May 23

Uttar Pradesh has a total of 80 seats and is the state which sends the most number of MPs to the Lok Sabha.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had sealed a remarkable 71 seats out of 80 with then ruling party in the state Samajwadi Party getting just 5 seats. After the coming together of Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party, a tough contest expected in India’s most populous state.

The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

Besides Maharajganj voting will also take place in Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase VII: List of states and constituencies to go for voting on May 19

Latest Update