अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Andaman and Nicobar Islands » PM Modi renames 3 islands in Andaman & Nicobar

PM Modi renames 3 islands in Andaman & Nicobar

By Newsd
Published on :

On the occasion of 75th anniversary of Tricolour hoisting by freedom fighter Subhas Chandra Bose, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday renamed three islands in Andaman & Nicobar. The three islands — Ross Island, Neil Island and Havelock Island — will now be called Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island, Shaheed Dweep and Swaraj Dweep.

The PM also released a commemorative stamp, its first-day cover and a Rs-75 coin on this special day. He also announced setting up of a deemed university after Bose.

Earlier in the day, Modi visited Marina Park and hoisted a 150-feet-high national flag at Port Blair to mark the 75th anniversary of Bose’s declaration of the formation of the Azad Hind government in 1943. He also paid floral tribute at Netaji’s statue in the park.

Also read: Andaman Nicobar: Hotel Association request Indian Govt to reconsider renaming of tourism driven islands


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice