Purnia Lok Sabha Constituency, Bihar: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results
Bihar, Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Purnia Lok Sabha Constituency, Bihar: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Purnia Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 40 parliamentary constituencies in Bihar, and will go to polls in the second phase of general elections on Thursday, April 18. Janata Dal United has fielded Santosh Kumar Kushwaha who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, defeating Uday Singh alias Pappu Singh, who was then a two-time Member of Parliament for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). 

Uday Singh later joined the Congress in March and is party’s candidate from the seat. Interestingly, before 2004, he was in Congress and had quit the party to join the BJP.

The Purnia Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar belongs same name and belongs to the Seemanchal region.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), the constituency number of Purnia is 12. In the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, five seats of Bihar are set to undergo polling. The other four constituencies from Bihar which will vote on April 18 are Katihar, Kishanganj, Bhagalpur, Banka.

Purnia Lok Sabha constituency comprises the following six Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Kasba, Banmankhi, Rupauli, Dhamdaha, Purnia, Korha

In the second phase of elections, 97 parliamentary constituencies across India would vote for the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

2014 Lok Sabha winner: Santosh Kumar Kushwaha, JD(U)

Runner up name, party: Uday Singh, BJP

Number of voters polled in 2014: 10,17,732

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 64.31

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,457

Number of women voters: 749,357

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

JD(U) Santosh Kumar Kushwaha

INC Uday Singh

Important dates to remember for Phase II

Notification to be issued on March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of nomination March 29
Date of elections for Phase II April 18
Date of Result May 23

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place for the second phase of Odisha Assembly Elections 2019. The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

With 900 million eligible voters, India’s election will be the largest the world has seen. PM Narendra Modi’s ruling BJP will be battling the main opposition Congress and a host of regional parties.

Bihar Lok Sabha Elections 2019 dates: Constituency wise schedule of voting for General Elections

Latest Update