अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » Rajasthan: Three seats where Congress won after 30 years

Rajasthan: Three seats where Congress won after 30 years

By Abhimanyu
Published on :
Rajasthan: Three seats where Congress won after 30 years

Jaipur: After the recent assembly poll results in Rajasthan, Congress has emerged victorious and all set to form the government. There are 3 constituencies in the state where Congress tasted the victory after thirty years.

The overall performance of the Congress has been satisfactory but winning these seats after such a long wait is something which it was eying for a long period of time. It has not only bolstered the chances of the party in the upcoming Lok Sabha 2019 polls but also created a dent in the BJP stronghold.

Pratapgadh, Dausa, and Dhod assembly constituencies were under the control of Bhartiya Janata Party for the last five to six assembly elections. But this time it has broken the jinx and clinched victory in the BJP bastions.

1.       Pratapgadh Assembly seat:

Bhartiya Janata Party leader Nandlal Meena has been winning from the seat for the last six times, but this time BJP gave the ticket to Hemant Meena, son of Nandlal Meena who lost against Congress candidate. Congress Ramlal Meena defeated BJP candidate with a margin of 16,680 votes. Last time in 1985 Congress has won this seat and finally, the wait of thirty-three years ended in this election. Former BJP minister Nandlal Meena has won this seat six consecutive times.

2.       Dausa Assembly seat:

There was a direct contest between Congress candidate Murarilal Meena and Bhartiya Janata Party contender Shankarlal Sharma for Dausa constituency. Murarilal emerged victorious and defeated his rival BJP candidate from a margin of 50,948 votes. Again this seat was one of the strongest bastions of BJP since 1985. Till 2008 this seat was reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates but after delimitation, it was declared a general seat but Congress failed to win this seat. However, Murarilal who won this seat from BJP ticket in 2008 later joined Congress and still failed to win the next assembly election held in 2013. Bahujan Samaj Party also has a significant vote share in this constituency and there have been some powerful independent candidate in this assembly as well but this year the fight was directly between BJP and Congress. Finally, Congress ended its draught of winning this seat since 1985 and won after 33 years.

3.       Dhod assembly seat:

This assembly seat is in Sikar district where Congress managed to win this time in a triangular contest. Congress candidate Parasram Mordiya defeated the Communist Party of India Marxist candidate Pemaram by a margin of 14,053 votes. Bhartiya Janata Party candidate Govardhan Verma came third in this election. Congress has never won this seat since 1990. Earlier CPM candidate had won this seat three times in a row and Amararam had been victorious from this seat.  In 2008, this seat was reserved for SC and CPM Pemaram had been victorious, but in 2013 BJP broke the red bastion and won from this constituency. In this election, BJP came on the third spot and Congress candidate secured his victory ending the draught after such a long time.


Also read: 

India’s first Cow Minister Otaram Dewasi loses to independent candidate in Rajasthan

BJP to lose 44 seats Lok Sabha in 3 states, according to current trends


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice