अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » IANS » RS pays tributes to ex-Prez Pranab Mukherjee, Pandit Jasraj

RS pays tributes to ex-Prez Pranab Mukherjee, Pandit Jasraj

Published on :

New Delhi, Sep 14 (IANS) The Rajya Sabha on the opening day of the Monsoon Session on Monday paid rich tributes to former President Pranab Mukherjee and 18 other former and sitting members of the House, who passed away this year.

The Rajya Sabha Chairman led the House in paying tributes to the departed souls.

Chairman Venkaiah Naidu said the country has lost an able administrator and great leader with the passing away of Pranab Mukherjee.

The House also paid tributes to three sitting members — Beni Prasad Verma, M. P. Veerendra Kumar and Amar Singh who died recently.

Tributes were also paid to former members Hiphei, M. V. Rajasekharan, Sanatan Bisi, Basant Kumar Das, R. T. Gopalan, Bhabani Charan Pattanayak, Ajit P.K. Jogi, Saroj Dubey, Vishwa Bandhu Gupta, Bishnu Charan Das, Ram Awadesh Singh, Shyamal Chakraborty, Nandi Yellaiah and Narendra Kumar Swain.

The House also remembered Pandit Jasraj, legendary Indian classical vocalist, who passed away on August 17.

As a mark of respect to the departed souls, the House observed a two-minute silence and was later adjourned.



(This story has not been edited by Newsd staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)
(For more latest news and updates Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter. Download our mobile app )

Latests Posts