अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » Sasaram Lok Sabha Constituency, Bihar: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Sasaram Lok Sabha Constituency, Bihar: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Sasaram Lok Sabha constituency comprises of the following Vidhan Sabha segments: Mohania, Bhabua, Chainpur, Chenari, Sasaram, Kargahar

By Newsd
Updated on :

Sasaram is one of the eight constituencies in Bihar to go on polls in the seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019. In the 2019 General Elections in Sasaram, Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded incumbent Member of Parliament Chhedi Paswan, while Congress’ Meira Kumar is the Mahagathbandhan candidate.

The voting for Bihar’s 40 Parliamentary seats will take place in seven phases beginning April 11. The last phase will be held on May 19.

Sasaram Lok Sabha constituency comprises the following Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Mohania, Bhabua, Chainpur, Chenari, Sasaram, Kargahar.

Sitting MP, Party: Chhedi Paswan, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 63,327

Runner up name, party: Meira Kumar, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 846,788

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 52.67%

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,732

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Meira Kumar (Congress)

Chhedi Paswan (BJP)

Important dates to remember for Phase VII

Notification to be issued on April 22
Last date for filing nomination April 29
Scrutiny of nomination April 30
Last date for withdrawal of nomination May 2
Date of elections for Phase III May 19
Date of Result May 23

With a total of 40 parliamentary seats, Bihar is a crucial battlefield in fight for Delhi. The coalition gaining majority of the seats in Bihar increases its prospects to form the next government at the Centre. In 2014, Bihar, along with other parts of North India, was swept by the Narendra Modi wave — which allowed the BJP to register is best-ever electoral performance in the state.

In the last general elections, the BJP had won 22 seats, whereas, its allies LJP and RLSP bagged 6 and 3 seats, respectively. The RJD won 4 constituencies, whereas, the Congress and the JD(U) were reduced to 2 each.

In Phase VII of the voting for the 17th Lok Sabha, elections will take place in 59 Lok Sabha constituencies across 7 states. Voting for this phase will take place on May 19. While, like all the other phases, counting will take place in May 23.

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place for the third phase of Odisha Assembly Elections 2019. The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

Bihar constituencies to go for elections in the last phase of General Elections 2019 are: Patna Sahib, Patna Sahib, Buxar, Patliputra, Arrah, Sasaram, Kurakat, Jahanabad.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice