अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Gujarat » Gujarat Assembly elections: BJP issues sixth list, repeats sitting MLAs for most seats

Gujarat Assembly elections: BJP issues sixth list, repeats sitting MLAs for most seats

By Newsd
Updated on :
BJP team meets Goa MLAs over leadership, no consensus yet
Image: financialexpress

The BJP on Monday announced its sixth list for the second phase of the Gujarat Assembly elections, declaring 34 candidates. The party has repeated most of the sitting MLAs and also given tickets to some senior members.

The most noteworthy is the ticket given to Congress rebel MLA Tejashreeben Patel to contest from Viramgam, the constituency she won while with the Congress.

The Congress is yet to announce its candidate from Viramgam.

Narhari Amin, the Congress rebel who defected to the saffron party a while ago, was expected to be given the ticket for Gandhinagar South constituency. However, the party has repeated sitting MLA Shambhuji Thakore.

Even, Mahendrasinh Vaghela, MLA from Bayad and son of Congress turncoat Shankersinh Vaghela, who according to sources was trying to get a BJP ticket from Gandhinagar North, has not been welcomed by the saffron party.

Gujarat polls: Nitish Kumar not to campaign for JD-U

Senior BJP leader Jaynarayan Vyas, who lost the Siddhpur seat during the 2012 elections, has once again been given a chance to contest from the seat.

Chairman of Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA), Bhupendra Patel, has been given the ticket to contest from the Ghatlodiya constituency. Former Chief Minister Anandiben Patel is sitting MLA from the constituency. It was earlier speculated that her daughter Anar Patel might be given the seat to contest in place of Anandiben.

The saffron party has repeated their sitting MLAs like Rajanibhai Patel from Becharaji, Suresh Patel from Maninagar, Rushikesh Patel from Visnagar, Ashok Patel from Gandhinagar north, Kishorsinh Chauhan from Vejalpur, Jagrupsinh Rajput from Bapunagar, H.S. Patel from Amraiwadi, Arvindbhai Patel from Sabarmati, Jitubhai Sukhadia from Sayajiganj and Rakesh Shah from Ellisbridge.

Fire-brand MLA from Vaghodiya constituency Madhubhai Shrivastav has also been repeated. He had openly challenged and dared the saffron party to stop him from contesting from the constituency.

Bharat Barot has been given the mandate to contest from Dariyapur. He will be contesting against sitting Congress MLA Gyasuddin Sheikh. Kaushik Patel will contest from Naranpura, the seat vacated by BJP national President Amit Shah. Pradeep Parmar has been asked to contest from Asarva region of Ahmedabad.

Monday is the last day for filing nominations for the second phase of state assembly elections.