अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » India » No-fly list rules out: Three levels of punishment for unruly passengers

No-fly list rules out: Three levels of punishment for unruly passengers

By Newsd
Updated on :
Image: hindustantimes

The government on Friday has announced rules for a national no-fly list in a bid to clear out unruly air travellers. Initially, draft rules that said unruly behaviour would draw suspension from flying for at least three months were put on aviation ministry’s website for public comments. The utmost penalty will be grounding for two years or more, as per the announcement made by the ministry on Friday.

“The No-Fly ban will be in addition to any statutory legal action that can be taken against the offender under existing laws,” civil aviation minister, Ashok Gajapathi Raju said.

The three levels of offence include:

Level 1: Unruly physical gestures, verbal harassment and unruly inebriation

Punishment:  Ban up to three months.

Level 2: Physically abusive behaviour (pushing, kicking, hitting, inappropriate touching).

Punishment:  Ban up to six months.

Level 3: Life threatening behavior such as assaults, damage to aircraft systems etc

Punishment: Ban is minimum for two years.

“Decision will be taken by an independent committee under a retired District Judge within a period of 30 days of alleged offence,” the minister said.

The countrywide no-fly list will be regulated by India’s civil aviation regulator.