अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » India » Parliament winter session live updates: Rajya Sabha adjourned till Wednesday, 11 PM

Parliament winter session live updates: Rajya Sabha adjourned till Wednesday, 11 PM

By Newsd
Updated on :
Parliament winter session live updates: Triple Talaq Bill to see Rajya Sabha today
Image: livemint

2:40 PM Rajya Sabha adjourned till Wednesday, 11 AM

Opposite  demands sending of the bill to the select committee first

1:40 PM JDU leader, Kaushalendra Kumar demands that all people above 60 should be given pension

12:20 PM Rajnath Singh replies to Congress’ demand for JPC

Rajnath Singh said that the govt has offered to hold talks but the Opposition have been avoiding.

12:10 PM Sloganeering in Lok Sabha regarding JPC probe in Rafale deal.

11:25 AM Rajya Sabha adjourned till 2 PM following heavy sloganeering, to resume at 2 PM

The Triple Talaq Bill which was passed in the Lok Sabha last week after heated discussions, is set to be tabled in the Upper House today. The bill is expected to face long debates between the Congress and the BJP as both the parties have issued a whip to their MPs to be present in the House.

In Lok Sabha, five bills are lined up for voting, it includes, Indian Medical Council (Amendment) Bill, 2018; The National Medical Commission Bill, 2017; The Companies Amendment Bill, 2018; The New Delhi International Arbitration Centre Bill, 2018. While, the Appropriation Bill, 2018 will be introduced in the house.

The Triple Talaq Bill makes the practice a penal offence. Under the proposed law, giving instant triple talaq shall be illegal and void, the husband could attract a jail term up to 3 years.

Winter session of the Parliament began on Tuesday on December 11. The house was adjourned after paying obituary references to former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, Union Minister Ananth Kumar, Bhola Singh, MI Shanavas and Mohammad Asrarul Haque.

The opening of the session coincided with assembly election results in five states- Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Mizoram.

Also read:
Parliament’s non-functioning affecting smaller parties: Sikkim MP

Obituary: Journey of former Parliamentarian Capt Jai Narayan Prasad Nishad

Government seeks Parliament’s nod to infuse over Rs 2,300 cr in Air India


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice