अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » In three Gujarat seats, Congress loses by less than 1,000 votes

In three Gujarat seats, Congress loses by less than 1,000 votes

By Newsd
Updated on :
Madhya Pradesh to enact law for journalists' security: Minister
Image: newindianexpress

With the BJP on Monday managing to hold on to power in Gujarat – though with a reduced tally of 99 seats, the Congress, which along with its allies won 80, lost by a margin of less than 1,000 votes in at least three seats.

In Botat constituency, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Saurabh Patel won the election by a margin of 906 votes, securing 79,623 votes against his Congress rival Dhirajlal Madhavjibhai Kalathiya’s 78,717.

NOTA gets 2.5 times more votes than AAP in Gujarat

In Dholka, BJP’s Bhupendrasinh Manubha Chudasama won emerged victorious by a margin of just 327 votes, getting 71,530 votes against his Congress rival Ashvinbhai Kamsubhai Rathod’s 71,203 votes.

In Godhra, C. K. Raulji of BJP won the contest against his Congress rival Rajendrasinh Balvantsinh Parmar by a margin of 258, getting 75,149 votes, against Parmar’s 74,891.

Overcoming initial setbacks in a seesaw battle, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 99 seats, seven more than the magic figure of 92 in a House of 182. Putting up an improved performance, the Congress secured 77 seats while its allies got three more. The NCP, which fought alone, got a lone seat and Independents got two.