अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » UP municipal elections: Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen bags 30 seats

UP municipal elections: Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen bags 30 seats

By Newsd
Updated on :
Hyderabad Twin Blast Case: “2 found 'not guilty' after 9 years, no justice for victim's families,” says Owaisi
Image: muslimmirror

The Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) on Friday won 30 of the 78 seats it contested in the Uttar Pradesh municipal elections.

The Hyderabad-headquartered party’s candidate Hajjan Hansar was also elected as chairperson of Dasna Municipal Council.

The party headed by Asaduddin Owaisi won 10 seats in Firozabad Municipal Corporation, two in Meerut Municipal Corporation and one each in Kanpur and Allahbad municipal corporations.

According to MIM sources, it bagged Afour seats in Baghpat Municipal Council, three seats in Mahul Azamgarh Municipal Council, two each in Sambhal, Amroha and one each in Sitapur and Banda municipal councils.

MIM finished second in the election for Ferozabad Mayor. Its candidate Mashroom Fathima polled 56,536 votes, pushing the Samajwadi Party to the third place. BJP’s Nutan Rathore won the seat with nearly 99,000 votes.

The party claimed that three independents also want to extend support to it.

Earlier, Owaisi said the party could win the seats due to hard work by the party’s state leaders and members. He thanked the voters for supporting the party.

The MIM failed to open an account in the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections in March. It had contested 35 seats.