West Indies' 15-man ICC World Cup 2019 squad: Andre Russell in, Pollard and Narine out

West Indies’ 15-man ICC World Cup 2019 squad: Andre Russell in, Pollard and Narine out

Cricket West Indies (CWI) announced their 15-man squad for ICC World Cup 2019 on April 24. All-rounder Andre Russell has been picked for the World Cup squad but surprisingly CWI has left out experienced duo of Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine.

The squad was picked by the freshly appointed interim selection panel chaired by Robert Haynes, along with Jimmy Adams (director of cricket) and West Indies’ newly appointed coach Floyd Reifer.

Andre Russell last played ODI cricket in July 2018. He was recalled for his side’s last two ODIs against England in February, but injury ruled him out of the series. The 30-year old is currently engaged in the 2019 Indian Premier League, where he has lit up the tournament with the bat, averaging 65.33 with a strike-rate of 217.77.

Apart from Russell, the fast-bowling duo of Sheldon Cottrell and Shannon Gabriel also received call-ups, the latter having missed West Indies’ last ODI series, against England, due to a ban, while Kemar Roach and Oshane Thomas make up the rest of the pace attack.

Shai Hope looks set to take the spot behind the stumps, with Nicholas Pooran covering as a back-up wicket-keeper. Fabian Allen and Ashley Nurse will take up the spinning responsibilities.

Jason Holder will continue to be the captain and Chris Gayle will also play his fifth World Cup. Gayle’s opening partner will most likely be Evin Lewis. Shimron Hetmyer and experienced Darren Bravo will hold plenty of the run-scoring responsibility too. The T20 World Cup hero for West Indies, Carlos Brathwaite will take care of the middle order in batting while he will contribute with the ball too.

Fast bowlers Keemo Paul and Alzarri Joseph along with leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo failed to make the cut. West Indies will begin its World Cup campaign against Pakistan on May 31 at the Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

West Indies’ 15-man squad for ICC World Cup 2019 is as follows:

Jason Holder (c), Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Sheldon Cottrell, Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Ashley Nurse, Fabian Allen, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope (wk), Oshane Thomas, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis.

ICC World Cup 2019: Full squad of all 10 cricket teams

Latest Update