ABVP claims three top posts in DUSU elections

ABVP, the student wing of BJP won three of the top posts of Delhi University Students’ Union, but ceded one position to the Congress’s student wing NSUI. The elections of DUSU were held on Friday. Over 36% of cast their ballots and the voting percentage recorded a drop by 7%.

ABVP’s Amit Tanwar won the President’s seat, Priyanka Chabri- Vice President and Ankit Sangwan, the Secretary post. NSUI’s Mohit Sangwan won the Joint Secretary seat. Student supporters had started gathering as early as 7 at the campus and the counting started around 7:30.

The last year’s overall turnout was 43.3% and the elections that took place in 44 colleges where Congress-affiliated National Students Union of India (NSUI) won the five-member panels in 33 colleges while the BJP’s student wing Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parsihad (ABVP) emerged victorious in 11 colleges.

DUSU is the representative body of the students from most colleges and faculties of the varsity, many colleges have their own students’ councils and are not a part of the collective student union.

This year the elections were carried out in a smooth manner and no incidents of violence were reported.
While four colleges didn’t conduct their students’ union polls, many students kept away from the DUSU central panel polls.

Latest Update