अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » World » Bangladesh Election live: Sheikh Hasina secures 4th term with a landslide victory

Bangladesh Election live: Sheikh Hasina secures 4th term with a landslide victory

By Newsd
Updated on :
Bangladesh Election live: Sheikh Hasina inches closer to 4th term, Awami League wins 20 seats

Voters from across Bangladesh exercised their franchise from 8am to 4pm on Sunday, to elect the next government. Early results show that Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is heading for a landslide victory in Sunday’s general election. Hasina raced into a clear lead, quickly securing 19 seats against zero for the opposition, according to Channel 24, which is compiling results from around the country.

The election process was marred by violence as at least 17 people were killed in clashes after a bloody campaign overshadowed by a crackdown on the opposition by Hasina who is expected to win a historic but controversial fourth term.


11:10PM- Till 10:30pm, unofficial results announced by respective returning officers show that Grand Alliance candidates have won in more than 100 constituencies.

10:08PM- As of now, Awami League wins 20 seats, according to the reports.

9:57PM- Lakhsmipur 1 is taken by Awami League’s Anwar Hossain Khan. He bags 185,438 votes.

9:55PM- Awami League’s s Farukh Khan bags 30,3168 votes in Gopalganj 1. BNP’s FE Sharfuzzaman gets 57 votes.

9:53PM- Norshingdi 3 is taken by Awami League’s Jahidul Haque Bhuiyan. He gets 94,035 votes.

9:51PM- Mymensingh 8 is taken by Jatiya Party’s Fakhrul Imam. He bags 156,769 votes.

9:50PM- Awami League’s Jewel Areng takes Mymensingh 1 with 258,923 votes.

9:47PM- Awami League’s Shirin Sharmin sweeps Rangpur 6 constituency with 234,426. BNP’s Md Saiful Islam gets 24,053.

9:46PM- Independent candidate Shahid Islam wins Lakhsmipur 2 with 256,784 votes.

9:40PM- Awami League’s A K M Bahauddin is declared winner of Comilla 6 constituency. He gets 296,300 while Mohammad Amin Ur Rashid, BNP candidate, gets 18,537.

9:36PM- Former president Hussain Muhammad Ershad wins Rangpur 3 with 142,926 votes while his nearest candidate BNP’s Rita Rahman gets 53,089.

9:33PM- Awami League’s Simin Hossain Rimi wins Gazipur 4 after bagging 203,258 votes. His close opponent Shah Reazul Haq of BNP gets 18,582.

9:27PM- Awami League’s Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim wins Gopalganj 2 with 281,909 votes while BNP’s Md Sirajul Islam Siraj bags 286.

9:23PM- Voting in 22 out of 40,000 polling centres across Bangladesh was suspended due to different types of irregularities, Election Commission Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed says.

9:22PM- A BNP polling agent is killed in Jessore, as per Dhaka Tribune.

8:49PM- Islami Andolan Bangladesh (IAB) claims there was vote rigging at many polling centres in 25 constituencies.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice