Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Bikaner Lok Sabha Constituency, Rajasthan: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Bikaner is one of the twelve constituencies in Rajasthan to go for polls in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Monday, May 6. In the 2019 General elections, Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded sitting Member of Parliament Arjun Ram Meghwal, while Congress has given ticket to Madan Gopal Meghwal.

Bikaner Lok Sabha constituency comprises of following Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Khajuwala, Bikaner West, Bikaner East, Kolayat, Lunkaransar, Dungargarh, Nokha, Anupgarh – District Sriganganagar.

Sitting MP, party: Arun Ram Meghwal, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 308,079

Runner up name, party: Shankar Pannu, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 930,766

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 58%

Number of women voters in 2014: 402,768

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,695

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Nihal Chand Meghwal (BJP)

Bharatram Meghwal (Congress)

Important dates to remember for Phase V

Notification to be issued on April 10
Last date for filing nomination April 18
Scrutiny of nomination April 20
Last date for withdrawal of nomination April 22
Date of elections for Phase V May 6
Date of Result May 23

In Phase V of the voting for the 17th Lok Sabha, elections will take place in 51 Lok Sabha constituencies across 7 states. Voting for this phase will take place on May 6. While, like all the other phases, counting will take place in May 23.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had sealed a remarkable whitewash of winning all the 25 seats in the state.

The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

In a first, candidates with criminal antecedents will have to publish information in this regard in newspapers and through TV channels on three occasions during the campaign period. The Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) and postal ballot papers would for the first time carry the photograph of all the candidates to help voters identify the political leaders in the fray.

Ajmer Lok Sabha Constituency, Rajasthan: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Latest Update