Bihar: These candidates lost out on ticket due to differences with Nitish Kumar
Bihar, Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Politics

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: These candidates lost out on ticket in Bihar due to differences with Nitish Kumar

Gone are the days when leaders would let go any opportunity to hit back at their political enemies, especially at a time when elections are around the corner.

A similar situation has embraced the state of Bihar, where it is being said that Nitish Kumar has played a huge role in making sure that some certain BJP leaders don’t get the ticket to contest upcoming Lok Sabha elections. At a time when Nitish Kumar was not in the NDA, many BJP leaders used to speak openly against the politician. Even some of the JDU leaders have been vocal against Nitish Kumar. Many of these politicians have not been given tickets to contest elections.

It is also being said that in the ticket distribution in Bihar, Nitish not only denied his rebels to contest on JDU ticket but have also forced them to not contest as a BJP candidate. Former Union Minister and wife of JDU leader Digvijay Singh – Putul Singh, Samrat Chaudhary, Nitish Mishra and Renu Kushwaha used to be associated with the JDU. Most of these were serious candidates for the Lok Sabha 2019 elections. Putul Devi from Banka, while Samrat Chaudhary was prepared to contest from Khagaria. Chaudhary had even begun preparations to compete.

Samrat Chaudhary-Nitish Mishra calm, Putul Singh aggressor

While Samrat Chaudhary and Nitish Mishra have stayed calm, Putul Singh has taken an aggressive approach. She has even made an announcement to contest from Banka as an independent candidate. In fact, after leaving the RJD, former minister Samrat Chaudhary had joined Nitish and took over the responsibility of the Municipal Housing Department. But soon his relations with the party turned sour. Similar is the situation between Nitish Mishra and Renu Kushwaha. Renu Kushwaha got annoyed after her husband did not receive the ticket in the last Lok Sabha elections and left the minister post, joining the BJP.

Shahnawaz’s pain and Giriraj’s discontent

Senior BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain also lost out on the ticket. Shahnawaz has already called out JDU responsible for him not getting a ticket. He has also expressed his pain through social media.

Lastly, there is the BJP’s firebrand leader and Union Minister Giriraj Singh – the name that has been the most discussed in the whole high-octane political drama. Giriraj was given the ticket to contest from Begusarai, instead of his Nawada constituency, due to which he got extremely angry with the BJP and only after BJP president Amit Shah’ request, did he became ready to contest from Begusarai.

Munger seat was taken by RJD from LJP, in return for which Nawada seat was given to LJP, resulting in Giriraj losing the ticket to constituency’s seat of which he is currently an MP. The number of Bhumihars in Munger, Nawada and Begusarai Lok Sabha constituencies is considered decisive and LJP Vice-President Surajbhaan Singh has also MP from Ballia Lok Sabha constituency. In such a case, his brother Chandan Singh could have been given a ticket to contest from Begusarai, but after instead was put forward to contest from Giriraj’s seat. Giriraj has been considered one of the staunch critics of Nitish Kumar. After the collapse of the coalition, Giriraj Singh was among the leaders who were the most aggressive against Kumar.

Who is Ramchandra Prasad? Know all about Nitish Kumar’s trusted backroom boy

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: NDA releases list of candidates for Bihar; check full list

Latest Update