Mathura Lok Sabha Constituency, Uttar Pradesh: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results
Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Mathura Lok Sabha Constituency, Uttar Pradesh: Current MP, Candidates, Polling Date and Election Results

Mathura Lok Sabha constituency, one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituency from Uttar Pradesh will go for voting on Thursday, April 17. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Hema Malini had defeated Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) vice-president Jayant Chaudhary.

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Mathura will see a battle between the incumbent MP & BJP candidate Hema Malini, RLD’ Kunwar Narendra Singh and Mahesh Pathak from Congress.

The Mathura Parliamentary constituency has a total of 1,341,649 electorates out of which 593,726 are females and 747,923 are males according to Election Commission of India 2009.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), the constituency number of Mathura is 17. In the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019, eight seats of Uttar Pradesh are set to undergo polling. The other seven constituencies from Uttar Pradesh which will vote on April 18 are Nagina, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Hathras, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri.

Presently, Mathura Lok Sabha constituency comprises the following five Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) segments: Chhata, Mant, Mathura, Goverdhan, Baldev.

In the second phase of elections, 97 parliamentary constituencies across India would vote for the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

2014 Lok Sabha winner: Hema Malini, BJP

Runner up name, party: Jayant Chaudhary, RLD

Number of voters polled in 2014: 1,049,273

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 59.65%

Key candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Hema Malini (BJP)
Kunwar Narendra Singh (RLD)
Mahesh Pathak (Congress)

Important dates to remember for Phase II

Notification to be issued on March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of nomination March 29
Date of elections for Phase II April 18
Date of Result May 23

Along with Lok Sabha Elections, voting will also take place for the second phase of Odisha Assembly Elections 2019. The turnout in the last general election in 2014 was more than 66%, up from 45% in 1951 when the first election was held.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Varanasi Constituency Elections Dates, Schedule and Results

Latest Update