अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates: Mizo National Front set to form government

Mizoram Assembly Election Results 2018 Live Updates: Mizo National Front set to form government

By Newsd
Updated on :

Live Updates:

1:20 PM: Incumbent CM Lal Thanhawla is trailing from Serchhip, while, independent candidate Lalduhoma leading from the constituency.

The MNF has won seven seats in Mizoram, while one seat bagged by an Independent candidate.

11:40 AM: Official ECI trends: Mizo National Front leading on 21 seats, Congress leading on 4 seats, BJP leading on 1 seat, and Independents on 7 seats in Mizoram.

Mizoram Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has lost from Champhai South seat, MNF’s TJ Lalnuntluanga has won

The MNF is leading in 16 seats, Congress has an advantage in 11 seats. The BJP is also making inroads in the north-eastern state with lead in two seats

9:10 AM: The Congress is leading in 10 seats, while the Mizo National Front (MNF) is ahead in 11 seats. Others are leading in one seat

Mizoram assembly election 2018 was held on November 28 and over 73 per cent of the 7.68 lakh voters exercised their franchise to elect a new assembly. It has a 40-seat assembly, with 21 seats being the majority mark.

Major political parties in Mizoram includes Congress, the Mizo National Front (MNF), Mizoram People’s Conference, the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), former Lok Sabha speaker PA Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) and Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

79-year-old leader, Congress leader Lal Thanhawla who has been the chief minister of Mizoram for five times, is one of the prominent names in the Mizoram political circles. From the opposition, Vanlalzawma belonging to the Mizo National Front could play an important role in government formation. Former chief minister, Zoramthanga, President, Mizo National Front (MNF is another key player in the state.

The Congress and the MNF contested from all 40 seats. The BJP, which is in power or is part of the ruling coalition in six states of the region, fielded 39 candidates this time. Despite contesting the last five elections in the state, the BJP has failed to win a single seat in the state that has 87% Christian population. The ZPM fielded its candidates in 35 seats and NPP, which is in power in Meghalaya and is part of the ruling coalition in Nagaland and Manipur, contested nine seats.