Odisha, Politics

Odisha: MLA Prakash Chandra Behera quits Congress party

Bhubaneswar: In a blow to the Congress party, Prakash Chandra Behera its MLA from Salepur, has resigned from the primary membership of Congress party. He has sent his resignation to the Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi.

Behera said, “After being removed as Cuttack District Congress Committee (DCC) President, I have been humiliated by the party leadership time and again. In spite of my appeal to Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President, my grievance was not duly considered by the OPCC”.

In January, Odisha Congress legislator Jogesh Singh had resigned from the primary membership of the Congress, a day after he was suspended for anti-party activities. The MLA from Sundergarh Assembly constituency had tendered his resignation to All India Congress Committee (AICC) President Rahul Gandhi and Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) President Niranjan Patnaik.

“I tender my resignation from the Indian National Congress party on moral ground. I also tender my resignation from the post of the Member of Odisha Legislative Assembly,” Singh had written in a letter to Gandhi. Singh was suspended for praising Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and announcing to skip Gandhi’s meeting scheduled to be held here on January 25.

Legislative Assembly Elections in Odisha are scheduled to take place concurrently with Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in 4 phases – April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

After Tom Vadakkan, now Shashi Tharoor’s aunt, uncle join BJP

TDP Diwakar Reddy ‘serial offender’; should be blacklisted from Parliament too: Congress

Latest Update