अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » India » Surya Prakash reappointed as Prasar Bharati Chairman

Surya Prakash reappointed as Prasar Bharati Chairman

By Newsd
Published on :
Image: livemint

Prasar Bharati Board Chairman A. Suryaprakash was on Friday re-appointed to the post till February 2020.

An official announcement said President Ram Nath Kovind, on the recommendation of the Selection Committee, had appointed Suryaprakash, a former journalist, as Chairman of the public broadcaster’s board till February 8, 2020 when he attains the age of 70 years.

The terms and conditions of his appointment shall be governed by the provisions of the Prasar Bharati (Broadcasting Corp of India) Act, 1990 and the rules made there under, it said.

Suryaprakash was appointed Chairman of the Prasar Bharati after the BJP came to power in 2014. His term has ended on October 28.

The selection committee that recommended his re-appointment was led by Vice President Venkaiah Naidu. His first term as the Chairman of Prasar Bharati had ended on October 28.

Prasar Bharati, a statutory autonomous body under the Information & Broadcasting Ministry, was set up to oversee the functioning of Doordarshan and All India Radio.