अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Tamil sex racket: Non-bailable warrant issued against six actors

Tamil sex racket: Non-bailable warrant issued against six actors

By Newsd
Updated on :
Tamil sex racket
Source: News18

On Tuesday, a magistrate court in Ooty issued a non-bailable warrant against eight Tamil actors- Sathyaraj, Suriya, R Sarathkumar, Arun Vijay, Vivekh, Sri Priya, Sarath Kumar and Cheran, for their absence in court, in connection with a defamation case filed by a journalist, according to media sources.

Back in 2009, actress Bhuvaneshwari was arrested by the Tamil Nadu police on charges of prostitution. She then said that other actors from the industry were also involved in the sex racket.

Later, the reputation of one of the actors was also degraded when the South India Cine Actors’ Association (Nadigar Sangam), held a meeting to condemn a Tamil daily, for publishing an article that tarnished his image.

But as per the complainant, M Rozario, a freelance journalist, said that instead of targeting the particular daily that published the article, the actors attacked all the journalists.

The court summoned these actors in the court in 2011, but the actors filed a petition, seeking to dispense with their appearance. Their petition was dismissed.

On the next date of hearing on May 17, 2017, the actors again did not turn up and thus, non-bailable warrants were issued against them.

Read more: Soldiers live at the bleeding edges of morality