अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » Telangana Assembly Election 2018: KCR first CM to call early elections and win

Telangana Assembly Election 2018: KCR first CM to call early elections and win

By Newsd
Updated on :

The counting of votes for the do-or-die battle that happened on Dec 7 in Telangana, is underway and the trends are likely to become more visible by early afternoon.

Telangana recorded 73.2 per cent votes. As many as 1,821 candidates including a transgender contested for 119 assembly seats in Telangana.

As per the trends so far Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) leads in with at least 91 of 119 seats. Pollsters continue to claim that it is going to be a one-sided contest in favour of the TRS. In fact, TRS has won its first seat in Jagtial, with Sanjay Reddy won against Congress leader Jeevan Reddy. Party won its second seat in Cantonment constituency with G Sayanna bagging over 12,000 votes.

Read here: Telangana Assembly Election Result 2018 Live Updates: TRS has won its first seat in Jagtial

In the Indian history, Telangana could be the first state to claim a landslide victory after the state ruling decided to call early elections. It is a grand battle, indeed, for the youngest State of the country in its first-ever Assembly elections. The high-octane campaign period generated much heat and curiosity, ever since the State Cabinet adopted a resolution to dissolve the Assembly on September 6.

As soon as the House was dissolved, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao moved his coins first. He immediately started electioneering, leaving his political rivals far behind in the race. In the last three-odd months, KCR addressed close to 90 public rallies and meetings.

Congress, on the other hand, scripted history by joining hands with its arch rival TDP. Congress stitched together ‘Praja Kutami’ (People’s Front) along with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) to take on the ruling TRS.

Earlier in 2004, Atal Bihari Vajpayi’s government had called an early elections, riding on their “shinning India” campaign but lost out to the United Province alliance.