Telangana Assembly Elections: Magic of Owaisi brothers continues in Hyderabad
Election, Politics, Telangana

Telangana Assembly Elections: Magic of Owaisi brothers continues in Hyderabad

In an election where Telangana Rashtra Samithi snatched almost 3/4 of the total seats and grabbed a voting percentage of 46.9, the All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen(AIMIM) managed to maintain its stronghold in their bastion, Hyderabad.

The party’s leader in the last Assembly and the brother of AIMIM President, Akbaruddin Owaisi registered his fifth win in succession from Chandrayangutta constituency. Owaisi won a whopping 59.19% of the total vote share, defeating  BJP hope Shahejadi Sayyad by more than 80000 votes.

AIMIM maintained their 7 seats in the Telangana Vidhan Sabha even as the results started to unfold a KCR wave in the newly formed state. The party has a single MP in the Lok Sabha(Hyderabad) in the form of the party Chief Asaduddin Owaisi, they have been winning this seat since 1984!

The list of constituency seats won by the AIMIM:

  1. Karwan: Kausar Mohiuddin
  2. Charminar: Mumtaz Ahmed Khan
  3. Chandrayangutta: Akbaruddin Owaisi
  4. Malakpet: Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala
  5. Nampalli: Jaffar Hussain
  6. Yakutpura: Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri
  7. Bahadurpura: Mohd Moazam Khan

AIMIM had given tickets to eight candidates in total, all in Hyderabad. Mirza Ramat Baig, who contested from Rajendranagar seat lost to Tolkanti Prakash Goud of TRS. The AIMIM candidate finished third, while Telugu Desam’s Ganesh ended second.

A day before the results, AIMIM Chief had extended his support to KCR in forming the govt.

How leading dailies read on the post Assembly Elections Results day?

Latest Update