अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Three Congress MLAs resign in Gujarat, join BJP

Three Congress MLAs resign in Gujarat, join BJP

By Newsd
Published on :
Three Congress MLAs resign in Gujarat, join BJP
Image: ANI

Problems seem to be never-ending for the Congress party in Gujarat. Three MLAs have resigned from the party on Thursday. Balwant Singh Rajput, Tejshree Patel and Prahlad Patel have disassociated themselves with the party now. They handed over their resignation to Ramanlal Vora, speaker of Gujarat legislative assembly. They have joined the BJP now.

A minimum of 47 votes are needed to win the Gujarat polls. BJP has 121 MLAs. If Amit Shah and Smriti Irani get 47 votes each, the total count would go upto 97.

On the other hand, the Congress has only 60 MLAs. The number has shrunk to 57, with the resignation of these three MLAs. Some of them also support Shankersinh Vagela. Moreover, some of these MLAs have also done cross-voting in the presidential polls.

Earlier on Sunday, former chief minister of the state, Shankersinh Vagela, had left the party. Sources said that he was unsatisfied with the policies of the party. But he didn’t give any hints of joining the BJP.

Balwant Rajput happens to be a kin of Vagela. He had also been the state head of the Congress.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice