अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Politics » Who is Tejasvi Surya, BJP’ Bangalore South Lok Sabha candidate

Who is Tejasvi Surya, BJP’ Bangalore South Lok Sabha candidate

By Newsd
Updated on :
Who is Tejasvi Surya, BJP' Bangalore South Lok Sabha candidate

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday named its Karnataka Yuva Morcha General Secretary Tejaswi Surya as candidate for the prestigious Banagalore South Lok Sabha constituency, which goes to poll on April 18. The decision comes with less than a day left for filing nominations for the April 18 elections, which is the first phase of elections in Karnataka.

The 28-year-old Surya is a fiery orator, as RSS swayamsevak, and a practicing lawyer at the Karnataka High Court. He is general secretary of the state Yuva morcha and a part of the national social media team.

Even in 2014, when he was just 23 years old, Tejasvi Surya was in high demand as a campaigner. In 2014, he had addressed rallies in Pune, Chennai and Mumbai. Tejasvi Surya had become an internet sensation after an impassioned speech defending PM Modi and hitting out at the Opposition leaders.

He will take on Congress’ BK Hariprasad in one of the most conservative constituencies in Bengaluru.

Also read: BJP fields ‘young turk’ Tejaswi Surya for Bangalore South

As the discussion prolonged, sitting MLAs and senior leaders like Suresh Kumar and Ravi Subramanya, were considered for the seat. However, post-midnight, the decision made that Surya, the preferred candidate of BL Santosh-led RSS faction of the BJP in Karnataka, will be made the candidate.

The decision also ended the wide speculation around the electoral debut of Tejaswini Ananth Kumar, the wife of late sitting MP Ananth Kumar. Tejaswini had been recommended for the seat by the state party unit.

Meanwhile, Congress on Monday decided to field rural development minister Krishna Byregowda for Bengaluru North LS constituency, returned by coalition partner Janata Dal(S). Byregowda will file his nomination on Tuesday. He will take on Union minister D V Sadananda Gowda, who is seeking a second term.