अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Ex-Jharkhand CM to meet Election Commission, demand fresh polls

Ex-Jharkhand CM to meet Election Commission, demand fresh polls

By Newsd
Updated on :
JVM chief and ex-CM Babulal Marandi (Image: India Today)

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha chief and former chief minister Babulal Marandi will lead a delegation to the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) to demand fresh Rajya Sabha polls. The non-BJP delegation includes representatives of other party, like the Congress’ Subodh Kant Sahay, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Sanjeev Kumar and Janata Dal (United)’s Harivansh.

Opposition parties already knocked on the governor’s door on Thursday, to elaborate on the “immoral” practices that took place during the Rajya Sabha polls. A memorandum was reportedly submitted to governor Droupadi Murmu which carried proof of horse-trading.

Along with Marandi, Gautam Sagar Rana and Annapurna Devi of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Jaleshwar Mahto of JD(U), Vinod Pandey of the JMM, Rajeev Ranjan Prasad of Congress and KD Singh of the CPI were present to meet the governor.

On meeting the governor, Marandi said, “Arithmetic of the assembly is quite clear and taking along all the members supporting the ruling BJP the party should have won one seat while the other would have gone to the Opposition candidate. But it is evident that the ruling BJP used money and muscle power to secure even second seat for its candidate. This has become public through a CD and audios.”

Read: Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das “fixed” Rajya Sabha polls, reveals sting operation

Pradeep Yadav of the JVM elaborated, “Exchange of money has also taken place and it is a matter of a high-level probe. We demand such a probe either by the CBI or an SIT headed by a retired judge of the High Court. FIR should also be lodged against ADG Anurag Gupta.”

Marandi recently released a video of Jharkhand chief minister Raghubar Das manipulating votes for the polls. He is seen discussing the “managing” of MLAs in the June 11 Rajya Sabha polls.