अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » World » Imran Khan takes oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Imran Khan takes oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

By Newsd
Updated on :
Imran Khan takes oath as 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Cricketer-turned-politician and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman and Imran Khan has been sworn-in as the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan on Saturday. The swearing-in ceremony was held at the President House in Islamabad. Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to the new Pakistan Prime Minister.  It must be noted that 65-year old Imran Khan secured 176 votes while his only rival and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz chief Nawaz Sharif got 96 votes.

Imran Khan was seen in tears after he won the confidence vote in parliament.  The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats in general elections. The number increased to 158 in the NA after the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) issued notifications of the successful candidates on the reserved seats for women and the minority community on August 11.

From India, former cricketer and Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu, who arrived in Pakistan on Friday graced the oath-taking ceremony while other cricketers including Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar, who were invited by Khan, confirmed that they would not be participating in the event.

After more than two decades, since joining politics in 1996, Khan, who led the Pakistan cricket team to their only World Cup victory in 1992, has assumed the prime ministerial post in Pakistan. According to reports by Pakistan News Agency Geo News, the guests for the swearing-in ceremony included former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Pakistani players Wasim Akram and Javed Sheikh, Punjab governor designate Chaudhry Sarwar and Ramiz Rajaa among others.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice