Indian historian Sanjay Subrahmanyam wins $500,000 Dollar Dan David Prize

Indian historian Sanjay Subrahmanyam wins $500,000 Dan David Prize

Renowned Indian historian, Sanjay Subrahmanyam has been awarded Israel’s prestigious Dan David Prize for this year for his work on encounters between Asians, Europeans and indigenous and colonial Americans.

Dan David Prize gives annually a total of three prizes of US$1 million each. The prizes are granted to individuals or institutions with distinct excellence in the sciences, arts, humanities, public service, and business.

Kenneth Pomeranz, another well-known historian is sharing the $1 million prize with Subrahmanyam. Pomeranz is a professor at the University of Chicago. 

Subrahmanyam holds the Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Chair in Social Sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). He is also an alumni of University of Delhi.

“I greatly appreciate the international recognition afforded to my scholarship, which is a great encouragement,”, Subrahmanyam told UCLA news.

The international Dan David Prize is awarded annually to those who have made outstanding accomplishments in fields representing the past, present and future of human achievement.

According to the official website of the Dan David Prize, here is how Past, Present and Future are referred as:

  • Past: Fields that expand knowledge of former times.
  • Present: Achievements that shape and enrich society today.
  • Future: Focuses on breakthroughs that hold great promise for improvement of our world.

Category wise list of winners of the Dan David Prize 2019


  • Prof. Kenneth Pomeranz, Department of History, The University of Chicago, USA
  • Prof. Sanjay Subrahmanyam, Department of History, University of California, Los Angeles, USA


  • Prof. Michael Ignatieff, President and Rector, The Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • Reporters Without Borders, (Mr. Christophe Deloire Director General), Paris, France


  • Ms. Christiana Figueres, Global Optimism, United Kingdom

Anupam Kher dedicates award to father

61st Annual Grammy Awards 2019: Complete List of nominees and winners

Latest Update