अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Delhi » MCD Election 2017: Turnout to cross 54%

MCD Election 2017: Turnout to cross 54%

By Newsd
Updated on :
Source: India.com

On 23rd April, MCD elections are to be held in Delhi. It began at 8 AM and will continue till 5 PM. The main parties fighting the elections are Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), Swaraj India, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), and Samajwadi Party (SP). 

The first three hours of voting for Delhi municipal polls witnessed a weak turnout with election officers in Delhi village areas still waiting for voters. The day began with L-G Anil Baijal turning up early 8 am to cast his vote at Masjid Moth polling centre.

The voting for the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) elections 2017 was cancelled for Sarai Pipal Thala ward under North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) on Friday after one of the candidates passed away on Thursday. The polling which was scheduled to happen on April 23 in the ward will now be held on May 21.

16.71% voting percentage has been recorded till 12 noon, as per the Election Commission update— 2,237,056 votes were polled till 12 PM.

Gradually, 46 % turnout was recorded till 4 p.m. and the final figure was being calculated, according to PTI. Later after the polls were over it was reported that the voter turnout is likely to be 54%.

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal also exercised his franchise and said that people should vote against vector-borne diseases this time. Among other leaders who have cast their vote is deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia, Congress leaders Ajay Maken and BJP leader Dr Harshvardhan.

Notably, this election will be a litmus test to establish Kejriwal’s popularity since the party won 67 seats out of 70 in Delhi assembly elections in 2015. Also, this is the first time that AAP has been contesting in the municipal corporation polls in Delhi. However, BJP too is a strong contender for the election considering their wooing victory in the latest assembly polls across states. BJP even won the Rajouri garden by-poll election which was necessitated as AAP legislator Jarnail Singh quit in January to contest against Shiromani Akali Dal chief Parkash Singh Badal from Lambi in Punjab Assembly Elections 2017.

The votes will be counted on April 26. 


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice