अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Farooq Abdullah wins Srinagar Lok Sabha bypoll

Farooq Abdullah wins Srinagar Lok Sabha bypoll

By Newsd
Updated on :
Source: deccanchronicle

National Conference leader, former chief minister Farooq Abdullah won Srinagar Lok Sabha by-election. The supporters  in huge numbers congratulated the leader at party headquarters in Srinagar.

Counting of votes for Srinagar-Budgam parliamentary by-election began on Saturday morning. The State Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Shantmanu who visited the Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre (SKICC) in Srinagar on Friday, said counting of votes would begin simultaneously in Jammu, Udhampur and New Delhi where Kashmiri migrants had voted.

Notably, there were nine candidates in the fight for power. However, the main clash was between former CM and national conference President Farooq Abdullah and the governing Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Nazir Ahmad Khan.

Voting in the by-election was held on April 9 and just seven per cent voters turned out to use their right. An extensive clash between forces and civilians killed eight protesters. Following the incident, separatists had called for a boycott of these elections.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice