अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency: Repolling begins in 38 polling stations

Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency: Repolling begins in 38 polling stations

By Newsd
Updated on :
Source: Newsnation

The repoll instructed by Election Commission of India in 38 polling stations of Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency began on Thursday morning amidst tight security arrangements. The bypoll on April 9 was marred by violence that killed around 8 people and injured many.

The polling that began at 7 am in the morning will end at 4 pm. All the 38 polling stations are located in central Kashmir’s Budgam district. Sufficient arrangements of security have been made for re-polling at the polling stations.

The district administration has forced restrictions under Section 144 CrPc in the entire Budgam district, except places where polling is happening. State chief electoral officer Shantmanu examined the arrangements for the repoll at a high level meeting convened on Wednesday.

The poll process at all the polling stations will be video graphed and one micro-observer from central government offices will also be appointed for each polling station, Shantmanu had said. All the other arrangements instructed by EC for ensuring free and fair polls have also been made.

Notably, just 7.14 per cent of the 12.61 lakh electorate cast their votes on Sunday amidst an extensive protests and violence around polling stations.


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice