अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » TMC emerges victorious in West Bengal by-poll

TMC emerges victorious in West Bengal by-poll

By Newsd
Updated on :
Source: Indian Express

According to the by-poll results in West Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) retained the Kanthi Dakshin assembly seat while the BJP finished second. They bagged 95,369 votes.

TMC candidate and former Health Minister Chandrima Bhattacharya beat BJP nominee Sourindra Mohan Jana by over 42,000 votes.

Considering BJP’s popularity in Bengal, it witnessed a 22 per cent increase in its vote share since 2016 Assembly election. The CPI came third with 17,423 votes and the Congress came fourth after it managed to get only 2,270 votes.

The election was necessitated after TMC MLA Dibyendu Adhikari was elected to the Lok Sabha from Tamluk in 2016. The by-elections were necessitated in Gundlupet following the death of Cooperation Minister Mahadeva Prasad while in Nanjangud, it was caused by the resignation of Srinivas Prasad as Congress MLA after he was dropped from the ministry.

“It was expected as people’s support towards Trinammol Congress and its chief Mamata Banerjee increased over the years. Both our vote share and the number of votes have increased,” said winning candidate Chandrima Bhattacharya.

BJP candidate Sourindra Mohan Jana said, “There was an atmosphere of terror during the bypoll, still a large number of voters turned up to vote for BJP. They voted against the corrupt TMC government.”