WhatsApp Messenger, or simply WhatsApp is an American freeware, cross-platform centralized instant messaging (IM) and voice-over-IP (VoIP) service owned by Facebook, Inc which allows users to send text messages and voice messages, make voice and video calls, and share images, documents, user locations, and other content.
WhatsApp’s client application runs on mobile devices but is also accessible from desktop computers, as long as the user’s mobile device remains connected to the Internet while they use the desktop app.
Facebook-owned WhatsApp is one of the most used messaging apps across the globe and has above one billion monthly users. The application allows people to share media files like videos, photos, texts and GIFs. Apart from that, the application also provides various features to its users such as, making online payments, uploading status among others.
WhatsApp status has become one of the most common ways to share thoughts, photos, and videos that all your contacts can easily watch. People share their daily lifestyles and stories on their Whatsapp statuses.
Whatsapp allows its users to have the count on the number of people viewing their statuses. They can see their names as well, as saved in their contact lists.
But, with some secret tricks, one can watch their contact’s WhatsApp status without even appearing on their viewer’s list.
Here’s how you can can change your settings and secretly view someone’s WhatsApp Status:
- Step 1: Open your WhatsApp app.
- Step 2: On the top right side of the home screen, you will find three dots — tap on them
- Step 3: Now, there will be a variety of options on your screen — tap on the setting option
- Step 4: Now select the account option
- Step 5: Click on the privacy option of the app
- Step 6: Disable Read Receipt feature
- Step 7: Once the read receipt feature is disabled, your contacts will no longer be able to see your name in the viewer list of the status
Not only just it allows it’s users to have privacy while viewing other’s stories, besides, this messaging app offers several features to its users, and among them is read receipts. With the help of this particular feature, people get to know that their messages have been read and status has been viewed. However, if the read receipt feature is turned off then people will no longer be able to see who has read their message as the blue tick will not appear and viewed their status.
WhatsApp is one of the most used instant messaging apps with two billion monthly users. People use the platform to share videos, photos, GIFs, and stay in contact with each other. There are a number of hidden features that most people do not know about.
We all share our thoughts on photos and videos in the form of status on Whatsapp. These statuses are automatically deleted after 24 hours. You get to know who viewed your status through the viewing option.
One of the popular features of the Facebook-owned instant messaging app is the ‘Read Receipts. Through the ‘Read receipt’ feature, we know that our message has reached the receiver. Additionally, after the receiver has read the message, this tick mark becomes blue in colour. If you disable the ‘Read Receipt‘ feature, the person will not know if you have seen their status or read their messages.
Once the read receipts feature is disabled, your contacts will not know who viewed their WhatsApp status. However, you will also not be able to see who viewed your status.
There are some other ways through which you can stop people know that you viewed their status. Turn off your mobile data or disable your Wifi. You can now check their status without letting them know. But as soon as you go online, the other person will see that you have seen their status.
Well, these social – media platforms keep updating and upgrading their features every now and then to make their uses even more comfortable.