अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » India » Agatha Sangma to contest 2018 assembly elections

Agatha Sangma to contest 2018 assembly elections

By Newsd
Published on :
Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BJP to support Agatha Sangma in Meghalaya's Tura
Image: northeasttoday

Former MP Agatha K Sangma will contest the 2018 Meghalaya assembly elections on a National People’s Party (NPP) ticket, an official said on Friday.

On Thursday night, the NPP released its first list of 24 candidates for the 60 assembly seats in the state.

Agatha, who has been elected twice to the Lok Sabha and is the daughter of former Lok Sabha Speaker PA Sangma, will be contesting from the South Tura assembly constituency, while her elder brother James Sangma, who is the incumbent opposition whip, will contest from Dadengre.

Sitting NPP legislator Nihim D. Shira is seeking his re-election from Songsak, while former Rajya Sabha member Thomas Sangma will contest from North Tura and former Meghalaya Deputy Chief Minister Timothy D Shira from Resubelpara.

Former Congress ministers Frankenstein W. Momin and Manirul Islam Sarkar, who joined the NPP, will be contesting from Mendipathar and Phulbari, respectively.

Former NCP legislator Marcuise N. Marak will contest from Williamnagar.

The list also features the name of youth leaders: Wailadmiki Shylla, the brother-in-law of rebel Congress legislator Sniawbhalang Dhar, and Dasakhiatbha Lamare, son of Congress legislator Ngaitlang Dhar besides Lawanpynshngain K. War, son of late Congress legislator Kitdor Syiem.

Shylla, Dhar, War will contest from Jowai, Mawhati and Mairang assembly constituency respectively.

Maverick politician Hispreaching Son Shylla, who had joined the NPP recently, will be contesting from Nongkrem assembly constituency.

AThe other names features in the list include Cleophas B. Syiem (Nongpoh), Benedict Marak (Raksamgre), Mizanur Kazi (Rajabala), F.C.A. Sangma (Selsella), Ian Botham Sangma (Salmanpara), Rakkam Sangma (Siju-Rongara), Gilbert Sten (Mookaiaw), Sosthenes Sohtun (Jirang), Laplu M. Sangma (Mawsynram), Sainkupar Riahtam (Shella), Macmillan Byrsat (Nongstoin) and Alfred Kharbani (Rambrai-Jyrngam).

Election to the 60-member state assembly is scheduled to take place in February-March 2018.



Latests Posts

Editor's Choice