अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Kerala » Amidst Sabarimala row, 4 BJP leaders resign; Likely to join Left Front

Amidst Sabarimala row, 4 BJP leaders resign; Likely to join Left Front

By Newsd
Published on :
Amidst Sabarimala row, 4 BJP leaders resign; Likely to join Left Front

Thiruvananthapuram: Amidst the Sabarimala controversy which has caused a major political turmoil in the state, state Bhartiya Janata Party leaders are not in total support of its leadership position on this case. Four leaders including one state committee members have resigned from the BJP and likely to join CPM led Left Front.

BJP state committee member Vellanad Krishnakumar, districts leaders Uzhamalackal Jaykumar, Thelicode Surendran and V Sukumaran has resigned from the BJP, alleging that party is trying to divide the society by using Sabarimala issue.

V Krishnakumar speaking with the media said, “BJP tried to create a rift in society, exploiting Hindu emotions for electoral gains and it shows their political shallowness.”

He further added that the party has not even called a state-level meeting of the party leaders to discuss the political situation.

“This shows that the RSS agenda was being imposed throughout the state using BJP machinery,” said Krishnakumar.

These leaders have brought out a release which stated that current BJP state leadership is destroying the secular fabric of Kerala. It also suggested that the party needs to have progressive movements like CPM and they intended to join the left organisation.

Sabarimala case: BJP’s Surendran gets conditional bail after 21 days

The whole controversy sparked off after the Supreme Court verdict which allowed the entry of women of all age group to enter Sabarimala Temple on September 28.

After the order came out, it sparked off a huge controversy and the state has witnessed several rounds of violent protests after the Left Democratic Front led CPM government has decided to implement the apex court order.

Right-wing Hindutva organisation and BJP had been protesting against the court order and witnessed an intense criticism from all sections of progressive society.

Even BJP state leaders held an indefinite fast outside the state Secretariat, demanding the revocation of prohibitory orders imposed around the temple premises area. BJP National President Amit Shah had supported the Lord Ayappa devotees and accused the CPM government of suppressing the Ayappa devotees’ agitation.

Also read:

Congress-led UDF workers to boycott both Women’s Wall, Ayyappa Jyothi

“Electronic media is Islamic”, said BJP leader Sudhir Saini, apologies after media bars him