अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Assam » Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Seats, Schedule, and Congress Candidates Revealed

Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Seats, Schedule, and Congress Candidates Revealed

Assam holds the highest number of northeastern state representatives in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, which will begin on April 19 and involve three phases.

By Newsd
Published on :
Lok Sabha Elections Phase 5
Lok Sabha Elections Phase 5

Assam Lok Sabha Elections 2024: With fourteen representatives to the Lok Sabha, Assam has the most representatives of any northeastern state. Voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Assam will commence on April 19 and proceed in three distinct phases.

The Congress ruled the state, which borders Myanmar, Bhutan, and Bangladesh, for a time. Since the 2014 elections, the old party has declined in Assam, giving the BJP a chance to grow.

Despite its poor showing in previous assembly and general elections, the Congress remains a strong opposition party in Assam, opposing the Himanta Biswa Sarma government.

Statewide, the BJP won nine Lok Sabha seats with 36.05 percent of the vote. The Congress only secured three nominations, but they won 35.44% of the vote, challenging the dominant party. The remaining two seats went to an independent and Badruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF.

Despite losing, the Congress gave the BJP a tight fight in the 2021 Assam Assembly elections. The BJP won 71 of 126 Legislative Assembly seats and 44.51% of the vote, while the Congress won 50 seats and 43.68 percent.

The two national parties’ 2024 Lok Sabha elections in Assam will define their strategy for the 2026 Assembly elections.

The BJP expects more political success in the northeastern state in 2024, while the Congress is trying to revive it.

RJD leader Bima Bharti files nomination from Purnea Lok Sabha seat

Candidates for the Assam Lok Sabha: Voting dates

The initial three segments of the 2024 general elections in Assam consist of polling on April 19, April 26, and May 7, correspondingly. As reported by the surveys in 2019, the state experienced a respectable voter turnout of 81.60%.

Elections to the Assam Lok Sabha: Total seats

Two parliamentary constituencies in the fourteen that make up the state of Assam are reserved for ST candidates, while one is reserved for SC candidates. The remaining eleven seats in the legislature are not reserved.

Elections to the Assam Lok Sabha: Congress candidates

The Congress’s ‘Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra’ began in Manipur, reaffirming its North-East emphasis for the general election. In Assam and other surrounding states, it is expected to fight the BJP for as many seats as possible.

The Congress has declared the following candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in Assam in 2024:

S. No. Lok Sabha seats Congress candidates
1 Karimganj Hafiz Rashid Ahmed Choudhury
2 Silchar Surjya Kanta Sarkar
3 Autonomous District Joyram Engleng
4 Dhubri Rakibul Hussain
5 Kokrajhar Garjan Mashhary
6 Barpeta Deep Bayan
7 Gauhati Mira Barthakur Goswami
8 Mangaldoi Madhab Rajbanshi
9 Tezpur Prem Lal Ganju
10 Nowgong Pradyut Bordoloi
11 Kaliabor Roselina Tirkey
12 Jorhat Gaurav Gogoi
13 Dibrugarh
14 Lakhimpur Uday Shankar Hazarika

Lok Sabha polls: EC transfers district police chiefs in Punjab, Assam