अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Delhi » Delhi election results 2020 live updates: Not suprising, says Sandeep Dikshit on Congress loss

Delhi election results 2020 live updates: Not suprising, says Sandeep Dikshit on Congress loss

By Newsd
Updated on :
Delhi election results 2020 live updates

Votes will be counted for the 70 assembly segments of Delhi that went to polls last week, Feb 7. Exit polls have predicted a clear victory for the AAP but the results can be different than exit polls.

Around 1.5 crore eligible voters of Delhi elected representatives for the 70-member Delhi assembly from 672 candidates for which the counting will take place today from 8 am.

The primary contest in the 2020 Delhi election is between the ruling Aam Aadmi Party and the Bharatiya Janata Party. In 2015, Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP had registered a near clean sweep of the Delhi assembly, winning 67 out of 70 seats. Will the party be able to repeat that performance?


05:30 PM | Sandeep Dikshit, Congress:  “Congress’ performance is not surprising. We were nowhere there. We tried to showcase the work done by Sheila ji but it was done really late because unfortunately Subhash Chopra ji was given the responsibility really late.”

Manoj Tiwari, Delhi BJP chief: “I thank the people of Delhi. I thank our party workers for their hard work, they have done a lot. I accept the mandate of people of Delhi and congratulate Arvind Kejriwal. I hope he will perform well as per the expectations of the people. We couldn’t perform well, we will evaluate this. Sometimes we get discouraged when results are not as per our expectations but I would like to tell our workers to not be disheartened…Compared to 2015 our winning percentage has increased.”

03:30 AM | Thanking Delhi for its mandate assuring the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party a third consecutive term in the national capital, chief minister Arvind Kejriwal said “it is the victory of every family in Delhi who chose me as their son.” “Dilli walo, ghazab kar diya aaap logon ne. (Delhi, you did wonders) Delhi, I love you!” he said.

01:20 PM | AAP MP Sanjay Singh tweets, “2 crore family members of Delhi have shown that their son Arvind Kejriwal is not a terrorist, but a true patriot. We bow our head to the great people of Delhi for giving us victory with a great majority.”

11:20 AM | Everyone knew AAP will return to power for the third time, says Congress’ Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury

Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury says, ‘Everyone knew that Aam Aadmi Party will return to power for the third time. Congress’s defeat will not send a good message. The victory of AAP against the Bharatiya Janata Party and its communal agenda is significant.’

Alka Lamba trailing by over 12,000 votes from Chandni Chowk constituency, AAP’s Parlad Singh Sawhney leading

AAP’s Shoaib Iqbal leading by over 9,500 votes on Matia Mahal seat, BJP’s Ravinder Gupta second

10:25 AM | As per trends on the Election Commission website, too, the AAP has now crossed the half-way mark in leads. The AAP is leading on 39 seats while the BJP is ahead in 19.

09:55 AM | Congress candidate from Vikaspuri constituency Mukesh Sharma accepted his ‘defeat’ as the Congress has not opened its account yet. Taking to Twitter he said, ‘Accepting my defeat, I thank all the voters and Congress workers of Vikaspuri constituency and hope that there will be all-round development of the area. I will continue to fight for the development of Delhi, Vikaspuri and Uttam Nagar assembly constituencies in the future.’

09:5 AM | Atishi, Amanatullah Khan Trailing

Trends show AAP’s Atishi and Amanatullah Khan are now trailing in Kalkaji and Okhla constituency. Earlier trends showed the BJP on the backfoot in the same constituencies.

Counting of votes has been stopped at three places – Shakur Basti, Adarsh Nagar and Model Town, reported News18

09:00 AM | Congress candidate Haroon Yusuf is leading in Ballimaran constituency which recorded the highest voter turnout of 71.6 percent in Delhi

08:40 AM | AAP candidate Imran Hussain is leading from Ballimaran assembly seat, according to early trends. Congress’s Alka Lamba is trailing from Chandni Chowk seat.

Trends at 8.30am: AAP ahead in 40 seats, BJP leading in 13

08:20 AM | The postal ballots will be counted till around 8.30 am. After that, votes cast through electronic voting machines will be counted

08:00 AM | Counting of votes has begun for all 70 Vidhan Sabha seats.

AAP leader and candidate from Kalkaji constituency Atishi Marlena, said that AAP is confident for the kind of work they did in the past five years, she further added to it that AAP has worked relentlessly in the past years and will get their fruit of result today.

7:35 AM | Counting of votes to begin at 8 am


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice