Maharashtra civic body elections: Dhule and Ahmednagar results live updates
Delhi, Politics

Delhi MCD polls: Counting of votes begins

The counting of votes for the elections of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) begins. The counting of votes is taking place at 35 centres across the national capital.  A total of 53.58 per cent voter turnout was recorded in all three municipal corporation including East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC). The result of the polling will be out soon.

The MCD polls were held on Sunday, April 23. While North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) have 104 seats each, East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) has 64. The election in two wards has been postponed owing to the death of candidates.

The campaigning for MCD polls ended on April 21. It saw a six-cornered clash between Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), PM Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Rahul Gandhi-led Indian National Congress (INC) and Yogendra Yadav-led Swaraj India. The two other parties contesting polls include are JD(U), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP).

In last 2012 MCD polls, the BJP had emerged as the winner in all the three municipal corporations winning a total of 138 out of 272 seats. Besides, the Congress had managed the second spot with 77 seats. For AAP, the MCD Election 2017 is a test of popularity.

Latest Update