अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Sports » Cricket » India vs Australia 1st T20I preview: Aussies look to avenge home defeat

India vs Australia 1st T20I preview: Aussies look to avenge home defeat

With an aim of revenge, the Aussies will hope to kick-start their Indian tour with a win.

By Newsd
Updated on :
India vs Australia 1st T20I preview: Aussies look to avenge home defeat

Team India displayed a well-disciplined game against Kangaroos during India tour of Australia which resulted in a 1-1 draw in T20I series and a 2-1 win for India in the ODI series. With an aim of revenge, the Aussies will hope to kick-start their Indian tour with a win.

During India’s tour of Australia, the Men-in-Blue finished the T20I series 1-1 and clinched the ODI series 2-1. The touring Aussies would be aiming to reverse the results this time around.

India will host the first T20I match against Australia on February 24 at Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy stadium in Visakhapatnam.

India and Australia have played 17 completed T20I games against each other and the men-in-blue have certainly dominated the scoreline at 11-6. In case of fixtures hosted by India, the home team clearly holds the edge at 4-1. Though they have never hosted the Australians at Vishakhapattanam, which makes it even more exciting.

The Indians have had supreme run at home, and are on a seven-match victory streak. This will be India’s last international outing before the team shifts to Indian Premier League (IPL) mode. The Cricket World Cup will begin soon after the IPL. India will be considering this series as a warm-up for the World Cup and it will also be the last chance for many players who are still trying to make it to the World Cup squad.



The return of Virat Kohli has strengthened the batting lineup, he along with Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma will be seen serving the top order duties.

India narrowly lost the T20 series against New Zealand, bringing an end to their undefeated run in ten consecutive bilateral meets. Dinesh Karthik was the hero and the villain of the match as he brought India close pulling off another miracle in the same ilk as the Nidahas Trophy final. But in the final over, he refused a single to Krunal Pandya who was also hitting the ball quite. He backed himself to score 14 off 3 balls but failed as India fell short by just 4 runs in the end.

In the middle order, India will miss services of Hardik Pandya, who has been ruled out due to a lower back problem. In his absence, Ravindra Jadeja will take charges. The presence of Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik in the lineup means the hosts are capable of posting big totals despite the early hiccups.


Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been rested for this series, and Jasprit Bumrah is set to mark his return. Kuldeep Yadav has also been rested and Mayank Markande will be his replacement. While Yuzvendra Chahal has fixed his spot in the team as a regular spinner. All-rounder Krunal Pandya will also be included in the squad for all-round assistance.

Predicted XI:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul/Rishabh Pant, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Vijay Shankar, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Mayank Markande.



For Australia though, many fresh faces rejoin the squad after a good Big Bash League season. Players like D’Arcy Short and Kane Richardson will be eager to prove their worth in order to book a spot in the World Cup squad. Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis are heading into the series on the back of a highly successful BBL campaign, while Aaron Finch would aim to rediscover his form after under-par performances over the last month.


Adam Zampa should be the lone spinner in the playing XI, while Pat Cummins and Jason Behrendorff are most likely to yield the new ball. Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the upcoming series while his namesake Mitchell Marsh has been left out of the squad. Peter Siddle and Billy Stanlake are the other two players missing from the lineup.

Predicted XI:

Aaron Finch(c), D Arcy, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Alex Carey(wk), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Nathan Coulter-Nil, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice