अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Delhi » Kovind or Kumar: India to get new President today

Kovind or Kumar: India to get new President today

By Newsd
Updated on :
Presidential polls: 70% votes with him, it’s Kovind vs Meira today
Image: indianexpress

The results of the Presidential elections will be declared on Thursday as the counting of votes for the 15th Presidential election takes place in New Delhi. Soon, it will be cleared that who will occupy India’s top Constitutional post.

While NDA’s Ram Nath Kovind looks set to win against opposition candidate, Meira Kumar, the counting will show the scale of victory. The winning applicant will replace Pranab Mukherjee. Mukherjee’s term ends on 24 July.

Voting for the post of President took place on July 17. About 32 polling stations, including the one at Parliament House, were set up in many states.

Lok Sabha secretary general Anoop Mishra said the counting will begin at 11 am. At first, the ballot box of Parliament House will be opened and then the ballot boxes received from states in alphabetical order. The votes will be counted on four distinct tables and there will be eight rounds of counting.

BJP claimed Kovind had the support of over 40 political parties. This accounted for over 70 per cent of the electoral college with a total vote value of 10,98,903.

India’s President is voted through a complex voting pattern. It involves MPs from the two houses of Parliament and members of the legislative assemblies.

Nearly 99 per cent voting was recorded for electing India’s next president.