अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Beyond Metros » Manipur: Congress MLA Ginsuanhau Zou, 14 others join BJP

Manipur: Congress MLA Ginsuanhau Zou, 14 others join BJP

By Newsd
Updated on :
Source: cloudfront.net

A Congress MLA from the Singngat Assembly seat in Churachandpur district joins BJP along with 14 members of the Congress Autonomous District Council from Chandel district. Ginsuanhau Zou and others were felicitated at an event at the state BJP office in Imphal by CM N Biren Singh.

“Day after day, I’m gaining confidence over the BJP-led government’s growing strength,” Singh said. Notably, Zou is the second Congress MLA who joined the BJP since the party came to power with an alliance government in Manipur.  Earlier, Party legislator Shyam Kumar joined the BJP ahead of the Manipur Assembly floor test. He was given position in the chief minister’s Cabinet.

The development comes days after Manipur’s Health Minister L Jayanta Kumar resigned from his post. The National People’s Party leader alleged “interference” in his ministry. However, Singh is yet to accept his resignation.

The Congress turned out to be the single largest party by winning 28 seats in the 60-seat Assembly. But now, it has come down to 26.

The BJP in the state formed government with support of MLAs from the National People’s Party, Naga People’s Front, the Lok Janshakti Party, an independent MLA, a Trinamool Congress MLA and former Congress MLA Shyam Kumar.