People calling Nathuram Godse a terrorist should look within: Sadhvi Pragya
Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Sadhvi Pragya Thakur formally joins BJP, likely to contest from Bhopal

Bhopal: Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur formally joins Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday, April 17. She is speculated to contest against Digvijaya Singh in Bhopal. “I have formally joined BJP, I will contest elections and will win also,” Sadhvi said to media.

Yesterday, while talking to a media channel, Sadhvi had said, there is demand from people that the one who was tormented by the leader through “Hindu terror” remarks should be the one who beats Digvijaya.

Pragya was arrested in connection 2008 western India bombings in Malegaon, but was later acquitted of all charges by the Special National Investigation Agency (NIA) court.

The Congress hasn’t won Bhopal since 1989, while the BJP in what is now a stronghold has not lost the seat since 1989.

Digvijaya Singh was given Bhopal seat after Madhya Pradesh chief minister Kamal Nath said that in case he wished to contest the Lok Sabha elections, he should choose the “toughest seat”.

The Bhopal constituency is spread over eight assembly segments, — Berasia, Bhopal Uttar, Narela, Bhopal south-west, Bhopal central, Govindpura, Huzur and Sehore.

Madhya Pradesh goes to polls in four phases for its 29 Lok Sabha seats. Madhya Pradesh will began its Lok Sabha election polling fourth phase onwards in which six seats will vote on April 29. On May 6, seven seats will go for polls, while in the fifth phase and in phase six on May 12 eight seats will vote. In the last and seventh phase, eight seats will vote on May 19.

Bhopal Lok Sabha: Congress yet to find winning formula to wrest the seat from BJP even after three decades

Latest Update