अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Entertainment » Amitabh Bachchan’s record of biggest victory still unbroken

Amitabh Bachchan’s record of biggest victory still unbroken

By Newsd
Published on :
Amitabh Bachchan’s record of biggest victory still unbroken

Allahabad Lok Sabha seat has over the years attracted various politicians and celebrities of the top echelon, Be it former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri, VP Singh or Murli Manohar Joshi have successfully contested from this UP seat multiple times.

One of the most renowned Bollywood actors Amitabh Bachchan also contested from this South-eastern constituency. In the 1984 elections, Big B won from a whopping margin of 1,87,895 votes. Fighting on Congress candidate’, the Bollywood star defeated Hemwati Nandan Bahugana of the Indian National Lok Dal.

Even after 35 years, that victory remains a record as no one has won with a greater margin ever from the constituency. Allahabad seat has till since witnessed a total of 9 elections (1 by-election and 8 parliamentary elections).

Till the last general elections (2014), Bachchan had also the record of securing most number of votes from Allahabad (2,97,461 votes). In 2014 the BJP candidate Shyama Charan Gupta broke the record by getting 3,13,772 votes in his favour.

Only woman till date to win from Allahabad constituency is Saroj Dubey of Janata Dal, she won the seat in 1981. Dubey had defeated Shyama Charan Gupta by a small margin of just over 5,000, she registered 1,14,898 votes to Gupta’s 1,09,702 votes.

The Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh will be among the most stretched out as it will be held in seven phases. Uttar Pradesh has a total of 80 seats and is the state which sends the most number of MPs to the Lok Sabha.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had sealed a remarkable 71 seats out of 80 with the then ruling party in the state Samajwadi Party getting just 5 seats. After the coming together of Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party, a tough contest expected in India’s most populous state.

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise complete schedule of voting for General Elections


Latests Posts

Editor's Choice