अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Delhi » Lok Sabha elections 2019: Kirti Azad likely to contest against Manoj Tiwari in Delhi

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Kirti Azad likely to contest against Manoj Tiwari in Delhi

By Newsd
Updated on :
Congress fields Kirti Azad from Jharkhand's Dhanbad Lok Sabha seat

New Delhi: Kirti Azad could contest against Delhi BJP chief and MP Manoj Tiwari in Northeast Delhi constituency, according to sources.

Kirti Azad is the son of former Chief Minister of Bihar Bhagwat Jha Azad and followed the path of his father joining the Bharatiya Janata Party. He was elected as an MP from Darbhanga, Bihar.

The Darbhanga MP and former Indian cricketer Kirti Azad had joined the Congress in presence of party president Rahul Gandhi in February.

Over the last three weeks, the possibility of an alliance between the Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) and the Congress have continued to rise and dip with twists surfacing each day.

While, the Delhi Congress Chief Sheila Dikshit has been strongly against the idea of the alliance, senior Congress leader PC Chacko, Tuesday, 19th March said, “Delhi leaders have to follow the Congress’s policy decision to go for alliances with parties opposed to the BJP”.

“As far as I know there are senior leaders in Delhi who think that defeating BJP is party’s immediate responsibility; for it we should form alliance with AAP, that’s the thinking of majority of leaders,” Mr Chacko was quoted as saying by a news agency.

The key bone of contention between Congress and AAP has reportedly been the number of candidates from each party, while a 3-3-1 formula has been discussed, where both parties would contest on 3 seats and another one going to a neutral candidate, AAP has insisted on having 5 tickets.

Aam Aadmi Party had announced 6 candidates for the Delhi Lok Sabha elections, on March 2. The 7th candidate, Balbir Singh Jakhar’s name for the West Delhi constituency was announced only yesterday.

Delhi, which has seven Lok Sabha constituencies will undergo elections in the sixth phase which will take place on May 12, along with the 6 other states, viz, Bihar (8 seats), Haryana (10 seats), Jharkhand (4 seats), Madhya Pradesh (8 seats), Uttar Pradesh (14 seats) and West Bengal (8 seats).

Delhi: Ajay Maken welcomes step to ask Congress supporters about alliance with AAP

Congress president Rahul Gandhi to take final decision on AAP-Congress alliance tomorrow