Defence & Diplomacy, India, World

55 Asia-Pacific countries including Pakistan, China endorse India’s bid for UNSC non-permanent seat

In what could be termed as a huge diplomatic win for India, 55 countries of the Asia-Pacific group at the United Nations endorsed India’s candidature for a two-year term to the non-permanent seat of United Nations Security Council.

“A unanimous step. Asia-Pacific Group @UN unanimously endorses India’s candidature for a non-permanent seat of the Security Council for 2 year term in 2021/22. Thanks to all 55 members for their support,” India’s Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador Syed Akbaruddin tweeted on Wednesday.

A video message attached to the tweet said, “Asia-Pacific Group endorses India for Non-Permanent Seat of United Nations Security Council. 55 countries, 1 nominee – India for non-permanent seat of UN Security Council Term 2021-2022.”

The 55 countries supporting India’s candidature include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkey, UAE and Vietnam.

Elections for five non-permanent members of the 15-nation Council for the 2021-22 term will be held around June next year.

The 10 non-permanent seats are distributed across the globe on a regional basis: five for African and Asian States; one for Eastern European States; two for the Latin American and Caribbean States; and two for Western European and other States.

Currently, the 10 non-permanent members are Belgium, Cote d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Poland and South Africa.

The five permanent members include China, France, Russia, UK and the US.

UNSC members welcome listing Azhar as international terrorist

Latest Update