अब आप न्यूज्ड हिंदी में पढ़ सकते हैं। यहाँ क्लिक करें
Home » Election » BJP loses in its bastion Vidisha after 46 years

BJP loses in its bastion Vidisha after 46 years

By Newsd
Updated on :

Vidisha constituency was the Bharatiya Janata Party’s safe bet since 1977. However, in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election results announced on December 12, BJP faced an embarrassing defeat against its rival party Congress in its bastion Vidisha.

Congress candidate, Shashank Shrikishan Bhargav defeated BJP’s Mukesh Tandon with a margin of around 15,000 votes in the constituency which is considered as the safest seat for the BJP from last 46 years.

The last time Congress had won the Vidisha assembly constituency was in 1972 assembly polls. Bhargav ended Congress’ 46-year drought for Vidisha seat.

Vidisha was considered as one of the safest seats for BJP not only in assembly polls, but also for Lok Sabha elections. Minister of external affairs, Sushma Swaraj is MP from the seat for past two terms.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan had won Vidisha assembly constituency in 2013 assembly polls. After which, he vacated Vidisha necessitating a crucial by-election in 2014 and his trusted aide Mukesh Tandon was fielded and he won against Congress candidate, Shashank Shrikishan Bhargav.

Congress fielded Bhargav from Vidisha seat for the fourth time in a row.

Prime Minister, Narendra Modi held a rally in Vidisha on November 25- second last day of camapign in state.CM Chouhan did road shows in the district and addressed rallies to gain support for Tandon. On the other hand, Bhargav, a trusted aide of Suresh Pachouri, held his fort alone and no big leader of Congress campaigned for him in Vidisha. Though Congress President Rahul Gandhi held rally in nearby Ganj Basoda constituency.